Tel:+86 15018473294
Position:Home > Service
EPA Certification

What is EPA certification

EPA is the abbreviation of the Environmental Protection Agency of the United States.

On December 12, 2016, the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) took direct action, referring to California standards, and revised the final rules published in its Federal Register, outlining the new national standards for formaldehyde emissions from composite wood products. This act, known as Chapter VI of the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA TITLE VI), requires that any company that imports, manufactures, sells, supplies or offers to sell hardwood plywood, MDF, particleboard and or products containing composite wood materials for sale in the United States must indicate compliance with the requirements of TSCA Title VI. EPA requires certification and testing to be completed by a third-party certification agency (TPC) recognized by EPA.

The composite board defined by the regulations refers to plywood (HWPW), particle board (PB), medium density fiberboard (MDF) and laminated product.

The EPA TSCA Title VI regulation is consistent with the formaldehyde emission limit standards for plywood (HWPW), particleboard (PB), medium density fiberboard (MDF) and laminated products. EPA has additional requirements for laminated products, as follows:


Emission limit

Effective date

Test method




ASTM E1333


ASTM D6007

with Equivalence test to ASTM E1333










laminated product



CARB has no requirements for laminated products, and the formaldehyde emission requirements of other products are consistent with EPA TSCA Title VI

Manufacturers using non-additive formaldehyde resin (NAF) or ultra-low formaldehyde emission resin (ULEF) can be exempted from third-party certification conditionally, but must cooperate with third-party certification agencies to obtain relevant formaldehyde emission data. See NAF/ULEF certification introduction for details